Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Our Council

Council of the Society of Australian Red Cross

Meeting once a year at the Annual General Meeting, the Council’s responsibilities include receiving reports and financial statements and electing and appointing Office Bearers and Additional Board Members.

The Council is made up of the President and 53 voting members, including all members of the Australian Red Cross Board, up to six Special Councillors and 32 members elected or appointed by the Divisional Advisory Boards (DABs) of each state and territory, one of whom must be a youth member from each state and territory.

Membership of the Council

Special Councillors

John Hood, John MacLennan, Michael Legge AM, John Pinney AM and Dianne Buckles

Council members appointed or elected by each Divisional Advisory Board to attend the 2019 AGM were:

ACT Division

Borka Buseska, Noel Thilaken, Lachlan Hunter and Stephanie Riddell

NSW Division

Margaret Kiehne, Anne Knox, Robyn Rooth and Alanah Still

NT Division

Foster Stavridis, Tanyah Nasir and Deven Patel (youth position vacant)

QLD Division

Helen Clarke, John Pinney AM, Maureen Farrington and Tasman Bain

SA Division

Keith Wilson, Mabok Marial, Val Smyth and Anita Chaplin

TAS Division

Rita Richards, Frances Maxwell, Noelene Humphries and Cari Tan

VIC Division

Dr Garry Nolan AM, Aurelia Balpe, Beth Eggleston and Sam Fisher

WA Division

Karyn Collins, Jag Atrie, John Richards and Zinab Al Hilaly