View Contents

Our Board

The role of the Board is to govern the activities of the Society, and in doing so, works to ensure that Red Cross acts in accordance with the Geneva Conventions, International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) regulations, the International Movement’s Protocols, and the Fundamental Principles of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement. It also develops and maintains ethical standards based on a Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest Policy.

Comprising up to 16 members, the Board includes the President, Deputy President, the Audit and Risk Committee Chair, the Youth Member, the Chair or nominee of each of the eight Divisional Advisory Boards from every state and territory, the Australian Red Cross Blood Service Chair and up to three Additional Board Members. While not members of the Board, the Chief Executive Officer, Chief Financial Officer, Director of Services and International Operations, Director, Marketing, Fundraising & Communications and Secretary attend Board meetings throughout the year.

Ensuring good governance is in place is a key Board responsibility, including mechanisms to provide for compliance with legal requirements and regulations, while safekeeping the ongoing financial viability of Red Cross. The Board monitors and periodically evaluates its own performance and strives to always have a skilled and diverse membership in place. It also establishes and implements a recognition process that acknowledges the efforts of members, volunteers and staff.

The Board met 11 times during this financial year. Board members appointed during the financial year undertook a full day of induction training covering all aspects of governance, Red Cross programs and management.

At the start of this year, there were three vacant Additional Board Member positions. Red Cross undertook a thorough skills inventory and an extensive search and selection process supported by external recruitment consultancy Fish and Nankivell was conducted to meet the identified skills gaps. As a result, three new Board members were appointed.